Skip to content

Queen Anne’s Lace Paperweight

July 28, 2009

I believe that Queen Anne’s Lace is just too pretty to ignore. This beautiful flower had to be preserved and used in this nature crafty family.

IMG_0944

 

I dyed the flowers in many different colors, since QAL dyes so well. Then I tried pressing the entire flower. This was a little difficult because many of the florets were crushed, no matter how hard I tried to press them all down perfectly.

IMG_0081

 

So then I tried pressing each floret individually. This was a bit more time consuming, but worth it.

IMG_0094

 

After a few days in the flower press, they were ready to use. They pressed perfectly!

IMG_0097

 

Now, what to do with these pressed lovelies; I made a paperweight. I used a 1 part glue to 2 part water solution, then decoupaged the florets onto a rock.

IMG_1011

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 3:09 am

    Thank you so much for this idea, I keep coming across QAL everywhere and I think I may have to grow some of my own.

    What a truly lovely, inspiring workspace you have!

  2. July 29, 2009 6:09 pm

    so beautiful!! as always, everything is darling and inspiring…

  3. July 29, 2009 7:02 pm

    Inspired by you, we have QAL in colorful bottles at this very moment. Gorgeous new site, Lisa, congrats! Love the layout and stunning, larger photos.

  4. August 6, 2009 1:33 am

    What a lovely blog extension… I must admit the pictures look so much better when they are big. The paperweight is lovely – a perfect combination of hard and sweet things

Leave a comment